Monday, October 31, 2016

The Region of Tuscany

We will be touring the region of Tuscany (Italian "Toscana"), a province located in central Italy. Its diverse natural landscape encompasses the rugged Apennine Mountains, the island of Elba’s beaches on the Tyrrhenian Sea, and Chianti’s olive groves and vineyards.

Toscana is Italian for Tuscany

Tuscany's capital is Florence is home to some of the world’s most recognizable Renaissance art and architecture, including Michelangelo’s "David" statue, Botticelli’s works in the Uffizi Gallery, and the Brunelleschi's dome on the Duomo basilica.

Michelangelo’s "David"

Botticelli’s "The Birth of Venus"

Duomo basilica

Getting there!

Most airlines have regular flights to Rome or Milan. Some have direct flights to Venice (Delta). One little-known fact is that if you are heading to Tuscany, some airlines have seasonal non-stop flights to Pisa. It might be worth checking that out, since it is a short train ride away from Florence, and the prices are usually more economical. Most other cities in Italy do not have intercontinental airports. That means that to fly into Florence, for example, you will need to stop over in some other European city first.